Are Brexiteers Stupid?


man person people emotions

Yes. On the whole, it appears so. At least, they were stupid enough to be duped by some very clever people who don’t care about them. Of course, lots of people are stupid, most people, and some of them are Remainers.

I blame the parents…or, rather, previous governments using education (…education, education) as a political football. We allowed education in this country to be degraded and abused for decades. Deliberately or otherwise, we’ve been dumbed down.

Now, I’m not advocating the Classics, Latin and Greek, or a return to the days of rote learning, or of writing out pages of dictated kingly history to regurgitate in exams, as I did as much as I could stomach. I’m talking about education in the basics of how our democracy works, placed in the context of valid recent history, to empower the populace to participate in the democratic process as informed citizens (or even as subjects of Her Maj).

I’m talking about education in the basics of critical thinking, logic and epistemology (how we work out what’s true), which apparently nobody ever learns unless they attend a relevant university course or happen to engage with the subjects online. (If you’re wondering what makes me different, why I can judge this near-ubiquitous lack of common sense, it’s because I took an early interest in philosophy, was lucky enough to get a half-decent education in a private school and, when the Internet came along, I did engage in debates on philosophical issues.)

The elites who go to the really posh schools, from which most of our politicians hail, have mostly honed “debating skills” rather than thinking skills, and so conflate figuring out what’s true with winning an argument. Worse, they often learn – despite the overt mantra – that what matters is winning, not taking part. The same ethos of competition has infected all levels of schooling, which is now no longer “education” in the true sense, nurturing inherent talents and interests for the sake of a more rewarding, interesting life, but training to be a wage slave, a type-cast cog in the wealth-creating project of capitalism. Hence the schooling starts earlier and earlier, and plausible people tell parents this is on the grounds that it helps the children get a good start, but what they’re measuring isn’t necessarily a good quality for the person, just the production-line requirement of exam results, and childhood is restricted to early infanthood, after which it’s on with the daily grind.

Since capitalism is explicitly based on the principle of selfish interest, each wage slave is encouraged merely to find the most profitable outcome in any interaction, whether competing for school places, in the jobs market or when voting for their political representatives. Increasingly over recent generations the basis of politicians’ arguments has shifted from personally-held principles to bargaining points, enticements, bribes, to the point where now the parties fall over themselves to offer the impossible.

Our abject failure in these areas is the perfect foundation of a society in which the political class can do what they like in the interests of their personal gain, at the expense of everyone else, and it has led to the perfect storm of Brexit.

Probably “all of us” colluded in bringing this situation about. The immense wealth and social progress afforded by technological innovation in the Global North produced a reckless optimism. This made us complacent in the area of personal development, because if everything in the world is just set to get better and better systematically, nobody needs to study or care as much about anything. Unfortunately, the growth was based on an unsustainable energy source and the treatment of the natural world as a global midden for an increasing human population, which brought us to a slow and reluctant awakening to the horrorific reality, a world owned by a few greedy multinationals, nature ravaged and undergoing mass extinctions, a planet we’ve raped and shat on perhaps beyond repair.

And even as the general population parrot the new environmental-disaster mantra, having doubted it or denied it routinely until Greta Thunberg got in their stupid faces, they are still too stupid to realise that Brexit was just another symptom of the greed and corruption at the end of capitalism. They’re still making earnest arguments for or against a Brexit that was conjured like a sick rabbit out of some vacuous, titled cynic’s top-hat at a Bullingdon-Club stag do. Brexit meant little more than Tory high japes gone wrong, evidenced by Boris “Tank-topped-Bum-boys” Johnson’s face when the result was announced.

Ask Why

Virtually nobody asks why, least of all of themselves. Virtually nobody has been taught how to think, or that it starts with, “How do I know what I just said?”

So it is that reporters can shove microphones in the faces of people on the streets of Britain, as they do every day now as a micro-poll of the country’s mood as we approach the general election, hear the words, “Well, I just want to get out of Europe,” and fail to ask why, or to notice that the interviewee gives no indication they’re ready to back that opinion with reasons, just a blank stare, like it’s obvious.

Or perhaps they think it’s too late for such futile questions. What are they going to hear, “I don’t want straight bananas foisted on me by an unelected elite”? No, if that actually ever concerned anyone back when Boris was lying about it, it will have long disappeared from their fickle consciouness, subsumed in the sediments under the weight of further lies: how it’ll be easy, like having our cake and eating it, opening us up to better trade deals around the world, still trading easily with Europe. It’s now “oven ready” to “whack in the microwave”, as our fatuous leader repeats endlessly.

Alternatively, the accosted pensioner (as it so often seems to be) might trot out one of those truisms that conceal deep strata of unexamined history: “It’s democracy, isn’t it? The people voted. You can’t go back on that.”

Like what you managed to remember thinking yesterday.

Well, you can, and you should in certain circumstances. If, in a court of law, new evidence comes to light questioning the validity of earlier evidence given, the verdict may be overruled. Judges of appeals cases do not claim, “Well, the jury made their decision last time, despite all the lies the prosecution told, so it would undermine justice to overturn it.”

Ah, fuck it, why bother? Six days from now (Friday 13th) we’ll probably have a Tory landslide (never as gratifying as it sounds), or at best a hobbled, reluctant and in-fighting coalition government, and further rounds of Brexit negotiations or after-Brexit trade deals will drag on for another decade, while the NHS, social care, housing, employment rights, the railways, and the general physical and social environments fall even further into disrepair.

My own voting choices in this general election are an indication of where politics has got to. The principle of democracy, as some of us were told, is that various political parties express their principled views about how to run the country, and voters choose which vision of the future wins, by some definition of “majority vote”. But, having suddenly invoked another channel for democratic expression – the referendum – on the issue of whether we want to continue with the international level of democracy of the EU, and this now dominating the current traditional form of democracy, the parties are trading seat contests like never before, and have stacked their manifestos accordingly. The Remain-leaning Liberal Democratic, Labour, and Green Parties have witheld candidates in constituencies where one of the others has “more chance” of winning against the Brexit bloc, primarily the Tories, and they and the Brexit Party are similarly dancing to avoid stepping on each other’s toes. Politics has become a game of Twister, where parties reach around each other’s strongholds to try to occupy an adjacent free spot, and voters are left trying to make sense of a tangled heap of arms and legs, while some disconnected, greed-intoxicated heads repeat their meaningless appeals and spit insults at the others.

My deepest principles, to give my own sorry situation as an example, point to my voting Green, but, in order to defeat the Cons (currently sitting), the Greens haven’t forwarded a candidate. Despite recent events, “everyone says” that the Greens are a tiny minority party and thus “a wasted vote”, but if everyone says that about a minority, it never grows. This is how we all repeatedly shoot ourselves in the democratic foot. My next choice would be Labour, since I’m 100% “for the many not the few”, but again, general advice is that where I live Labour hasn’t much chance of getting the seat, whereas the Lib Dems have won here before and are probably a more likely second home for natural Tory voters torn away by being Remainers, rather than “Jeremy Corbyn” (parties are just their leaders now), who is probably seen as a raving Marxist in these, the leafier parts of Yorkshire.

There’s also the serious indictment being repeated everywhere that Corbyn has not just been a bit incompetent in dealing with the “antisemitism crisis” in the Labour Party, but that this is because, deep down, he’s an antisemite himself, along with being a “terrorist-sympathiser”, since he had meetings with Hamas and – all those years ago – the IRA. Now, I’m going to leave detailed examination of all that to another day, but I have to say I suspect it is all the result of two things – Jeremy Corbyn has worked tirelessly to bring all sides, including those designated as terrorists, to the negotiation table, first by holding out his hand and speaking kindly to the underdog, which risks misinterpretation by the establishment, and the latter, to damage his political prospects, have capitalised relentlessly on this (not helped by the fact that he is a little naive in his execution of the process, and has to issue apologies later).

It has to be noted that in the case of the IRA, it was only the eventual talks with the terrorist group that led to the current state of relative peace in Ireland, including close working relationship and friendship between its main protagonists, and eventually, in 2012, to the Queen herself meeting and shaking hands with one of those (prior) terrorist leaders, Martin McGuinness…but you don’t see headlines in the taboids denouncing Lizzie as a terrorist sympathiser! Corbyn, as far as I am aware, is working towards future peaceful solutions to the Israel-Palestine conflict, along with some of the wider and globally destructive problems of which it seems symptomatic. I know of nobody who knows him well, including Jews, who feels he’s got an antisemitic bone in his body.

It might also be noted that antisemitism is, as it has always been, vastly more prevalent on the Right than the Left, and is now very probably more evident in the Conservative Party than in Labour.

So I have my thinking cut out for me over the next few days. I can’t vote Green, and I’d like to support Labour, and I don’t trust the Lib Dems to have much backbone or be more than Tory-Lite, but I’m also concerned to reduce the Tories’ majority by another seat if possible, and I’m told only the Lib Dems can do that.

Life’s complicated. Similarly on Brexit: intuitively, I lean to the Remain side and voted to remain, but I take honouring the referendum result seriously (despite it being a sham from start to finish) and I’m concerned about the Leave backlash, possibly even a violent one, were we to stay in. The far-right would go ape. There’s also something to be said for people having to lie in the bed they made, and the last opportunity for learning is by making mistakes, and there’s an argument for genuinely having to up our game to avoid recession, although I doubt it’s going to be quite Johnson’s vision of liberating the nation’s enormous potential.

So maybe I should just vote Tory to bring on Brexageddon that bit quicker. Ultimately, I just don’t know how to judge vastly complex global political questions. Duh. None of us normal people could really have a clue, which is why having a fucking referendum about it was insane. Nobody knows whether five or ten years down the line the EU will fall into economic and political chaos, and any country that has managed to flee the sinking ship will feel lucky, or if that great bloc goes on to roll out a clean new world of peacefully coexisting diverse human cultures and forests full of diverse species, while the UK becomes a wasteland tax haven inhabited by criminals and nuclear-waste-contaminated cockroaches.

About lettersquash

I am a sixty-something English blogger, musician and programmer. I love nature, walking, cycling and camping. I write about philosophy, atheism, politics and - increasingly - just whatever is going on for me. I have some of my music on SoundCloud - the link below is generic, so you have to search for lettersquash once there.
This entry was posted in Environment, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Are Brexiteers Stupid?

  1. Jesus, there is so much here that I agree with I wouldn’t know how to begin so I won’t. Frankly, the last time the Labour Party appealed to me was when Blair got in and I was conned into thinking he was a good egg. And look how that turned out. They are all shytes in politics and I have no time for the whole damn thing. I don’t have any time for the hideous capitalist system of greed and more greed but regrettably its is merely a symptom of human nature. A disease brought on by evolution. A natural progression from grabbing what you want by violence to selling overpriced crap people don’t want and pissing on the planet.

    And so ends my diatribe. I agree with much of what you say but intend to remain with my head firmly buried in the sand. To play the lyre while Rome burns. Sod it!

    Like

  2. Incidentally, it may amuse you to hear that I knew all the Bullingdon set in my days at Oxford and was a member of the Christ Church version, the Loders Club. God knows why but in those days I seemed to think it amusing to visit these people in their grand country estates for raucous drink filled extravaganzas. Funnily enough, one such Bullingdon Club member was my best man and remains a close friend. He was converted to normality when he married the daughter of a nutty old peer who was one of the Philby Burgess Mclean set. As a girl, her father used to take the children off to communes for the holidays. He remains a close fried to this day. I’m having lunch later in the month with another close friend who was also Bullingdon. He still drinks like a fish and is madly sociable from his beautiful Cotswold estate.

    None of my old friends from university really understood it when I cut off completely around 30 years ago, having sussed out the inherent absurdity of it all. Indeed I initially refused the lunch invitation for later in the month and only then accepted on the grounds it was just the two of us.

    I was never cut out for that world. Dominic Grieve was an acquaintance at school and university and many of my erstwhile friends and acquaintances went off to be chairman of Barclays and the like.

    As you can see however, I am at least three quarters barking mad and simply can not be bothered with all that nonsense.

    Like

  3. lettersquash says:

    Hi Anthony – yes, I thought you’d agree with a fair bit of that! Interesting you knew/know some Bullingdon people and had a similar club connected to your Christ Church education. I don’t know much about it – I’ve been reading Stewart Lee – he went to Oxford and had dealings with that lot, including David Cameron, which he mentions in his comedy routines. My school was much less well known, being “oop north”, but I remember there was at least one foreign prince there several years below me – I can’t remember where from – and some kids with pretty rich parents. Mine weren’t that well off and struggled to send me there. I was never one for getting in with any in-crowd, made no “useful contacts”, and never thought of joining the old boys’ reunions. I regret it a bit, but after I dropped out of Poly that added to my reluctance to meet my mates who were probably doing very well for themselves while I had a dead-end job or none at all.

    Humans are curious, I think, in having two contrasting sets of drives from our evolution. There’s the ancient nature red in tooth and claw, the selfish drive, get what you can, kill or be killed, and then there’s the mutualism that comes from being a social animal, without which modern civilization wouldn’t have been possible. Evolution makes us care about each other, as well as making us compete – no wonder we’re a bit mixed up. But we could have the opportunity to rewrite that, if we can get over our evolution enough to rewrite it…if you see what I mean. I guess theoretically we could make ourselves completely inclusive and empathic towards all of the natural world that sustains us, and all our fellow human beings, given enough tweaking of the genes. I know you’ve talked about those sorts of futures as our only hope, and you might be right.

    Like

  4. lettersquash says:

    Damn, I should really have put this in the main text – I might do it now.

    Like

  5. I couldn’t agree more with most of what you’ve said. Being an Australian, I don’t have a strong opinion on Brexit (I can see it has major implementation difficulties, and probably being a member of the EU was good for Britain, but i can also see the perspective of people who resent the open labour market and who don’t like what the common market and the Euro has done to small producers in some countries. Not that I know much about it). In terms of people being dumbed down, absolutely. I think it’s to the advantage of conservative forces that people not think too much – they want to get back to the days when the peasants did what they were damn well told. In Australia this trend is quite scary to me – any attempt to question the status quo is met by ‘well of course you’re a latte-drinking intellectual from inner city Melbourne, you would say that’, and intellectuals generally are held in low esteem relative to people who can fix toilets (not that I don’t greatly esteem plumbers, but I don’t see why the two can’t co-exist – practical abilities/occupations and a wider knowledge/analytical skills). This I blame on Murdoch, and, partly, on the Aussie tendency to view thinking as boring, party pooping hard work. ANYWAY – I really wanted to say, thank you so much for your detailed comments on my blog. I know it got a bit mired in controversy, but I really appreciate your input and (though I don’t always say it) I agree with you 99%.

    Like

  6. lettersquash says:

    Thanks so much, @butimbeautiful – only 99% though, disappointing. 😉

    It always helps when someone like you tells me they see the world much the same, so I don’t feel like I must be going mad, and yeah they do tell you that now, don’t they, if you point out the state of global socio-economics?

    Thanks for your patience with that little exchange with another commenter on your blog – you could have shut it down, but sat it out. To me, it was very mild compared with many I’ve engaged in (although the very bad-tempered ones don’t usually last as long). I used to do more of that – critical thinking outreach work, you might call it.

    Think of you often as I watch the news from down under. Reminds me that we have more pressing concerns than people’s religious views.

    Like

  7. Woody says:

    Hi John, sorry it’s taken me so long to comment. The hack and slash and seductive magical beauty of sword and sorcery fiction has kept me out of the normal online life I enjoy and as a result, my online friends see less of my thoughts.
    Although most of my ‘Brit’ friends vary greatly on their thoughts about Brexit, I see clearly your wisdom on the subject, framed as you have in the gorgeous golden light of critical thinking and seeking to narrow the facts into a reasonable assessment. I read you brother, while my earlier assessments have catered to circumstantial events and the protests of national yearnings which, like it or not, include a massive percentage of the voting public.
    ‘How do I know what I just said’. Such an important question. I’ve dealt recently with others, including my new lady-friend, with just that issue. Their view needs to be based on something … no?
    ‘What leads you to believe that?’, is a question I am slowly growing tired of asking.
    ‘What statistics or survey or study or other fucking form of investigation has planted that little view in your head, which you speak as if you have recently been exposed to an undeniable source which confirms it.’
    When I am given no acceptable answer to this, sometimes, I must hold back the savage rant of skeptical method which I have had years to form, a method that you describe seemingly with ease and a wonderful understanding of how one should fairly and reasonably form a conclusion.
    It is little wonder that you enjoy the online ‘Skeptics Dictionary’ like I do. Evidence comes in many forms of varying value when matched against other input and we try to assess what is more likely, not what we would like to believe, not what we would prefer to believe.
    Besides, a lot of what we like to call ‘evidence’, is not actualy evidence at all.
    Thank you John, keep up the good work mate.
    All the best,
    Your loyal fan, Woody.

    Like

  8. lettersquash says:

    Wow, it’s taken me even longer to get back to you, Woody. There’s no need to apologise and I’m glad you stopped by with those encouraging thoughts.

    “The hack and slash and seductive magical beauty of sword and sorcery fiction” – oh good, that sounds like it’s going well, eh?

    I’ve been in a weird mood lately, virtually no idea what to write about, little interest in my usual subjects, maybe working a few things out in myself at the moment. Not sure where the blog is heading, or if my head is going to be back in it again anytime soon. I’ve been thinking about writing something autobiographical – erm, my autobiography I suppose that’d be. Often thought about that, but always put off by being a complete nobody, and probably The Diary of a Nobody has been done to death!

    I think you overestimate my skill with all this critical thinking business, but it is good to hear. I keep waking up to myself, realising how much my opinions are just stuff I’ve heard, prejudices etc. On more serious subjects (Brexit stuff is often just a rant) I’ll research, and often discover I’m completely wrong. Again, it’s great to hear from people like you, who say things like, “we try to assess what is more likely, not what we would like to believe”. I still find it odd when someone rejects that principle, or how common it is to reject it. It’s sort of like a psychological consumerism: This idea suits my style, I’ll buy it.

    All the best with the fiction – and in your new relationship.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.